Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Crew Waivers

Hello Racers!

Some of you have had questions about what to do with the crew waivers... Please give them to your skippers, who should email them all together to if they can do so before the Skippers' Meeting. Otherwise, they should bring them (all together) to the Skippers' Meeting.

Thank you!

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Big year for the Oregon Offshore

The Kickoff Party last night was a success... packed room at Rogue Hall with fun raffles including gift certificates, foul weather gear, and a GoPro! We also received a few more entries, for a total of 31 received or in the mail.

Unfortunately, Skipper Gil MacGregor has decided not to race his Child of the Mist, but that still leaves us with 30 boats. We're excited!

The newest entrants include Siren, Wave Dancer, California Girl, and Ocelot, and we're told that Neptune's Car and Sol Pacifico mailed their entries yesterday, which qualify them for racing. Kokopelli's entry makes three Santa Cruz 27's, so those boats will be scored as fleet. Click on the links for more information about each boat.

We'd also like to give a shout out to Chris Schweiger and Jeff McDonald of Panama Red for being the first skipper(s) to return their entire crew list and crew waivers all together. Skippers, please collect those and get them to us as soon as possible (no later than the Skippers' Meeting on May 7).

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Comparing Radar Reflector Performance

Hello Oregon Offshore Sailors!

Please take a look at some information concerning tests done regarding the abilities of certain types of radar reflectors.

Please be aware that certain types do not meet PIYA's requirements.

See you tomorrow at the Kickoff Party!

Friday, April 18, 2014

Tabu - Farr 44

Tabu is a Farr 44 skippered by Jim Leonard, hailing from Seattle, WA. She has a PHRF rating of 30.

You can find more info and pictures about this pretty and fast boat by clicking here.

Katzenjammer - C&C 34

An Oregon Offshore regular, Katzenjammer hails from Portland, OR, and has a PHRF rating of 147. Her skipper is Jim Calnon.

Photo credits Dena Kent.